Caught Shoplifting in Orlando, Florida?
The punishment for someone caught shoplifting in Orlando, Florida will depend on a couple of factors. First, the value of the item(s) allegedly taken in the theft will distinguish the level of sentence. Second , whether the person has any prior record of theft will play a role in the potential penalty.
If the face value of the merchandise shoplifted is under $300.00, the offense is considered a misdemeanor for a first or second offense theft. For a first offense shoplifting charge in Orlando, Florida, the sentence can be up to $500.00 fine and 60 days jail. A second theft offense in Orlando, Florida carries up to 1 year jail and $1,000.00 fine. A third or greater offense of shoplifting in Orlando, Florida carries up to 5 years prison and a fine of $5,000.00. Florida theft Statutes outlines more complete information regarding Florida theft charges.
Contact TILDEN LAW (407)-599-1234 to discuss the specific facts of your Shoplifting / Theft offense in Orange County, Florida. We represent clients in all state courts on Theft / Shoplifting charges in Seminole County, Orange County, Winter Park, Florida, Orlando, Florida. Former Florida prosecutor with 20 years criminal trial experience with theft / shoplifting offenses. Rated A+ by the Better Business Bureau. Free initial case evaluation. Call (407) 599-1234.