Possession of Marijuana – The Key West, Florida City Commission has voted unanimously to approve an ordinance that would establish an $100 ticket for the possession of up to 20 grams of cannabis. They are not alone as more and more local governments are moving towards a fine instead of arrest.
The current Florida law for Possession of under 20 grams of marijuana makes it a first degree misdemeanor which carries up to 1 year in the county jail, 1 year county probation and a $1,000 fine for starters. The new local ordinance would allow officers to elect not to arrest for this offense. The net result could lead to a greater revenue generated and fewer cases clogging the court system. One study out of Philadelphia found that that arresting someone for marijuana costs law enforcement agencies an average of $1,250. To write someone a ticket costs $20.
Key West isn’t the first Florida local government to decriminalize possession of small amounts of marijuana. On June 30, 2015, Miami-Dade commissioners passed a similar ordinance by a vote of 10-3 that will result in $100 civil fines for possession of small amounts of marijuana. When it comes to juveniles, Monroe County State Attorney Catherine Vogel said “I have no objection to the proposed ordinance except in cases of juveniles. We already have civil citations for juveniles which do not involve fines but do require supervision which is more appropriate.”
If you have been stopped and arrested for Marijuana possession or other drug possession, the Winter Park, Florida criminal defense firm TILDEN LAW is rated A+ by the Better Business Bureau. Winter Park criminal defense Lawyer, Fleet Tilden, has 20 plus years experience successfully defending clients in Orange County marijuana cases, Altamonte Springs marijuana cases and Winter Park drug cases. We represent clients with criminal cases and drug charges in all Central Florida courts including: Orange County, Orlando, Seminole County, Altamonte Springs, Osceola County, Kissimmee St. Cloud, Volusia County, Daytona Beach, Deland and Lake County. Contact TILDEN LAW for a free and confidential case evaluation to determine your best defense, 407 599-1234.