Orlando DUI 10-Day License Rule
At Tilden Law, we challenge EVERY DUI driver license suspension and seek the reinstatement of our client’s driving privilege. We request a temporary driver license and hardship driver license for every client. Our goal is to get you back on the road immediately.
We understand the importance of having a driver’s license in Central Florida. We recognize that our client’s work and family depend on your being a legally licensed Florida driver. We focus our legal representation on challenging every driver license suspension resulting from a DUI arrest, obtaining a temporary driver license and ultimately receiving either a full driver license or a hardship driver license for every client. Contact Tilden Law today for a free case evaluation.
What is The Rule?
Clients arrested for DUI have only 10 days (including weekends and holidays) from the date of a DUI arrest to request a hearing to get your driver license back. Our office makes this request on behalf of all our clients!
If you submitted to the breath test after arrest and your blood-alcohol level registered .08% or higher or if you refused to take the breath test after being arrested for DUI, your driver’s license will be administratively suspended (an administrative suspension is separate and apart from the above listed Judicial Court Suspension).
How Long will my Driver License be Suspended?
The length of this administrative driver license suspension varies depending upon numerous factors listed as follows:
- First Time DUI with Blood Alcohol Level greater than .08% – 6-month driver license suspension (hard time suspension of 30 days). Our office positions our clients to qualify for both a hardship license and obtain a hardship driver license at the earliest possible time.
- First Time DUI with Refusal of Breath Test – 1-year driver license suspension (hard time suspension of 90 days).
- Second Time DUI with Blood Alcohol Level greater than .08% – 1 year driver license suspension.
- Second Time DUI with Second Refusal of breath test – 18-month driver license suspension. Florida Statute 316.193 prohibits any hardship license being issued upon a 2nd or subsequent DUI breath test refusal. A second or subsequent breath test refusal can result in the prosecution for a separate criminal charge.
Please Contact the Orlando DUI lawyers at Tilden Law, to schedule a Free Case Evaluation to find out how we can get your driver license returned to you.