The Florida Highway Patrol announced a statewide campaign to crack down on drivers who fail to obey Florida’s “move over” law, which has been on the books since 2002 but is still widely ignored by many motorists according to police officials.
The law requires that when a police cruiser, emergency vehicle or tow truck is parked alongside a highway, drivers must slow down to 20 mph below the speed limit or change lanes away from the parked vehicle. If you violate this law there is a fine of $60.00 collected by the state. County court costs can add an additional $90.00.
The state has been slowly increasing enforcement of the law in recent years issuing 6,713 citations last year compared to 1,958 in 2006 and 660 the year before that.
A recent national survey by Move Over America showed that seven out of ten drivers are unaware of move over laws even though they exist in 46 states.
If you are have been charged with a DUI in Orange County, Florida or Seminole County, Florida or have experienced what you believe to be police misconduct relating to your criminal traffic arrest and charge, please contact the experienced criminal defense lawyers at the Tilden Law for a free initial consultation, 407-599-1234.