Multiple DUI Offenses

Florida Multiple DUI Offenses

Florida DUI charges are considered “enhanceable” and the consequences for a second, third or subsequent DUI arrest are more severe than those for a first time offender. In some cases, a third or subsequent DUI charge will be prosecuted in Felony court leaving you with a permanent felony record. Because of these tougher penalties you need a skilled and experienced DUI lawyer on your side. Tilden Law has a proven track record of successfully representing clients with multiple prior DUI charges. If you are interested in avoiding some or all of the criminal and administrative penalties normally associated with a DUI conviction, Contact Tilden Law for a free initial case evaluation and visit our DUI Case Wins page to see our success rate in representing clients like you.

Multiple DUI Court Penalties and Sentence

Florida DUI laws and their associated penalties change each year. Listed below are the current 2008 Florida Multiple DUI sentences and penalties outline.

2nd DUI Conviction:

  • Adjudication of Guilt on your permanent criminal record
  • Fine amount not less than $1,000, and up to $2,000. With a Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $2,000, or greater than $4,000.
  • Discretionary 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.
  • Supervised Probation period of 1 year.
  • Jail/incarceration up to 9 months; 1 year if Breath Test reading over .15%; 1 year if the DUI resulted in a accident or crash. At court’s discretion, jail/incarceration sentencing terms may be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program.
  • 10 day vehicle impoundment or immobilization
  • Financial Restitution if DUI involves an accident, property damage or personal injury
  • Driver license suspension/revocation for up to 1 year
  • Attend and complete the advanced level DUI School (level II Counter Attack School) along with any proscribed treatment based upon school evaluation.
  • Attend and complete the Victim Awareness program.

2nd DUI Conviction within 5 years of a prior DUI:

  • Adjudication of Guilt on your permanent criminal record
  • Fine amount not less than $1,000, and up to $2,000. With a Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $2,000, or greater than $4,000.
  • Discretionary 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.
  • Supervised Probation period of 1 year.
  • Jail/incarceration mandatory minimum 10 days and up to 9 months; 1 year if Breath Test reading over .15%; 1 year if the DUI resulted in an accident or crash. At court’s discretion, jail/incarceration sentencing terms may be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program.
  • 30 day vehicle impoundment or immobilization
  • Financial Restitution if DUI involves an accident, property damage or personal injury
  • 5 year Driver license suspension/revocation
  • Attend and complete the advanced level DUI School (level II Counter Attack School) along with any proscribed treatment based upon school evaluation.
  • Attend and complete the Victim Awareness program.

3rd DUI Conviction NOT within 10 years of a prior:

  • Adjudication of Guilt on your permanent criminal record
  • Fine amount not less than $2,000, and up to $4,000. With a Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.
  • Discretionary 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.
  • Supervised Probation period of 1 year.
  • Jail/incarceration up to 1 year. Mandatory minimum 10 days and up to 1 year if breath test reading over .15% or minor in the vehicle; 1 year if the DUI resulted in a accident or crash. At court’s discretion, jail/incarceration sentencing terms may be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program.
  • 10 day vehicle impoundment or immobilization
  • Financial Restitution if DUI involves an accident, property damage or personal injury
  • Up to 1 year Driver license suspension/revocation
  • Attend and complete the advanced level DUI School (level II Counter Attack School) along with any proscribed treatment based upon school evaluation.
  • Attend and complete the Victim Awareness program.

3rd DUI Conviction within 10 years of a prior DUI:

  • Felony Conviction on your permanent criminal record
  • Fine amount not less than $2,000, and up to $5,000. With a Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.
  • Discretionary 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.
  • Supervised Probation period of up to 5 years.
  • Jail/incarceration up to 5 year state prison. At court’s discretion, jail/incarceration sentencing terms may be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program.
  • 90 day Vehicle impoundment or immobilization
  • Financial Restitution if DUI involves an accident, property damage or personal injury
  • Lifetime Driver license suspension/revocation without the possibility of a hardship license
  • Attend and complete the advanced level DUI School (level II Counter Attack School) along with any proscribed treatment based upon school evaluation.
  • Attend and complete the Victim Awareness program.

4th DUI Conviction or more:

  • Felony Conviction on your permanent criminal record
  • Fine amount not less than $2,000, and up to $5,000. With a Blood/Breath Alcohol Level (BAL) of .15 or higher or minor in the vehicle: Not less than $4,000.
  • Discretionary 50 hours of community service or additional fine of $10 for each hour of community service required.
  • Supervised Probation period of up to 5 years.
  • Jail/incarceration up to 5 year state prison. At court’s discretion, jail/incarceration sentencing terms may be served in a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program.
  • Vehicle impoundment or immobilization
  • Financial Restitution if DUI involves an accident, property damage or personal injury
  • Lifetime Driver license suspension/revocation without the possibility of a hardship license
  • Attend and complete the advanced level DUI School (level II Counter Attack School) along with any proscribed treatment based upon school evaluation.
  • Attend and complete the Victim Awareness program.

Result Oriented DUI Representation

It takes years of specialized DUI training and Administrative hearing practice to properly represent the rights of a client arrested for DUI and facing a driver license suspension. Attorney N. Fleetwood Tilden is in his 15th year of criminal DUI practice and is a former Central Florida DUI Prosecutor and has handled over 1,000 criminal DUI cases in local courts.

Regardless of whether this is your first criminal charge for DUI or if you have been accused and prosecuted for Driving Under the Influence in the past, our defense strategy is to focused on achieving results and ultimately a dismissal or reduction of your case.
Please Contact Tilden Law today for a free case evaluation to see how we can help beat or reduce your DUI charge.